Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​Roles and Functions​

The core function of the Ministry of Land Transport and Light Rail is to devise and implement policies for land transport operation, traffic management, and road safety.

​It also acts as a regulator for the public transport industry including oversight on light rail operations, through the National Land Transport Authority, in line with the National Land Transport Authority Act, the Light Rail Act and the Road Traffic Act 1962, as subsequently amended.

The Traffic Management and Road Safety Unit and the National Land Transport Authority are the executive bodies of the Ministry while the National Transport Corporation and the Bus Industry Employees Welfare Fund are statutory bodies operating under its aegis.

The following statutory Committees have also been set up under the Ministry to help it deliver on its mandate:​

  1. i) the National Road Safety Council - set up under section 178A of the Road Traffic Act;
  2. ii) the Motor Vehicle Insurance Arbitration Committee- set up by virtue of section 68F of the Road Traffic Act; and
  3. iii) the Appeal Committee – set up by virtue of Section 19 of the National Land Transport Authority Act.

The Traffic Impact Committee is a technical Standing Committee chaired by the Permanent Secretary to grant clearances in relation to traffic management and road safety issues associated with development projects.

The Ministry is located at levels 10 & 12, Air Mauritius Centre, President John Kennedy Street, Port Louis.