Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​National Land Transport Authority​

The National Land Transport Authority (NLTA) is a department established under Section 4 of the NLTA Act 2019 and operates under the aegis of the Ministry of Land Transport and Light Rail. 

For the purpose of regulating the transport sector, the NLTA consists of two distinct Divisions namely the Road Transport Division and the Light Rail Division. The NLTA is presently headed by an Officer-in-Charge, Dr D. Kawol​, who is also the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Land Transport and Light Rail.

The ultimate objective of NLTA is to devise and implement strategies for a safe, reliable and modern integrated transport system to enhance mobility of passengers and goods.

It has as main responsibilities:

  1. i) the registration and licensing of motor vehicles, light rail vehicles and petrol service stations;
  2. ii) to regulate roadworthiness of motor vehicles and safety accreditation of the light rail ;
  3. iii) to monitor and oversee  public transport services and light rail operations; and
  4. iv) the regulation and control of land transport in Mauritius including Rodrigues and other islands falling under its jurisdiction.


M.S.I. Building, Royal Road, Les Cassis, Port Louis


Tel PABX: 202 2800

​Website of NLTA: